North Charleston claims Dixie Baseball Majors World Series Championship

The North Charleston 17-19 All-stars won the 2019 Dixie Baseball Majors World Series.

The North Charleston 17-19 All-stars went 5-0 in Sterlington, Louisiana to capture the 2019 Dixie Baseball Majors World Series Championship.

North Charleston, a team comprised of athletes from high schools and colleges in Berkeley, Charleston and Dorchester counties, opened the World Series with a 9-3 victory over the Laurel, Mississippi all-stars July 27. North Charleston then defeated Monroe, Louisiana 13-2, Prescott, Arkansas 12-3 and Brooksville, Florida 12-2 to advance to the championship series needing only one victory to claim the 2019 World Series title.

On July 31, North Charleston defeated Prescott 9-1 to capture the eighth Majors World Series Championship in program history. Fort Dorchester’s Jalen Vasquez earned one of the pitching wins for the team during its championship run. Fort Dorchester graduate CJ Belton contributed heavily at the plate.

This summer marks the 18th time the team has won the South Carolina Majors tournament to advance to the World Series. After winning the World Series in 2017, the team finished in the final four for the 2018 World Series but didn’t capture the championship.

The North Charleston 15-16 All-stars advanced to the 2019 Dixie Baseball Pre-Majors World Series also hosted by Sterlington, Louisiana July 27-31. That team advanced to the championship series before being eliminated with a 13-9 loss to Sterlington.

The North Charleston Pre-Majors defeated Mangham, Louisiana 17-5, Prescott, Arkansas 11-7 and Bladen County, North Carolina 12-1 before suffering an 8-7 extra-innings loss to Sterlington. North Charleston bounced back with a 7-6 win over Prescott to advance to the championship series.

The North Charleston 15U All-stars advanced to the Dixie Baseball 15U World Series July 18-20 in Sterlington, Louisiana. North Charleston defeated Deridder, Louisiana 10-0, Independence, Louisiana 14-2, Troy, Alabama 11-4 and Dyersburg, Tennessee 3-2 but fell 2-1 to Jefferson Parish Recreation District East, Louisiana in the championship game.