Mad as a hornet

Friday, October 23, 2015 12:01 a.m.

I never understood the depth of that phrase until a swarm of these tiny beasts decided to headquarter on our front porch. They took exception to our …

Autumn nostalgia

Friday, October 16, 2015 12:01 a.m.

It’s all about vivid color.

Football fever

Friday, October 2, 2015 12:01 a.m.

Some of us would follow that pigskin on most any field, most anytime. For others it’s all about connections. As a former high school football star – alas before I knew him – Jim leans more to the former, while favoring certain links. He’s also a pro ball fan. I’m all about connections, and am not as much into the …

Doppiness and other misadventures

Friday, September 25, 2015 12:01 a.m.

‘Don’t mind her,” mom often said to dad if I stumbled, “she’s pretty doppy.”

Tenderloin: aptly named

Friday, September 18, 2015 12:01 a.m.

One of my favorite cuts of meat is pork tenderloin. I especially like it when it’s priced BOGO at the grocery store. I cook one and freeze one. …

Aloha revisited

Friday, September 11, 2015 12:01 a.m.

Two enchanting events last weekend recaptured memories of a wonderfully lush journey 44 years ago. One was a joyous celebration, the other a TV rerun. …

Fried what? You can bake those?

Friday, September 4, 2015 12:01 a.m.

When I was growing up it seemed that the only thing mother fried was chicken, fish, potatoes and breakfast. Apparently things have really changed. …

A long, strong life – still!

Friday, August 28, 2015 6:47 a.m.

The car that rammed hers last April totaled it and nearly totaled Ritha Tuten. Resultant injuries included a split knee with a three-inch bolt holding it together; a broken leg complete with a long pin down one side secured with a half dozen screws; five breast plates from several broken ribs; a broken wrist; a hand with four protruding pins, and …

Sunset cruisin’

Friday, August 21, 2015 12:01 a.m.

What’s more soothing than water?

Signs of life

Friday, August 14, 2015 12:01 a.m.

The sign that riveted my attention was tacked up on Karen’s business entrance. It was only three lines, with six total words:

‘A Fine Romance’

Friday, August 7, 2015 12:01 a.m.

I was there at the birth of a love story.

Cool summer salads

Friday, July 24, 2015 12:01 a.m.

When it’s as flat hot as it has been recently, cool dishes are most welcome. Nothing fits this culinary bill of fare as well as salads. …

Prize winning PJs

Friday, July 17, 2015 12:01 a.m.

Jim and I still annually toast a pair of pajamas—or lack of same – as we are about to celebrate the 58th anniversary of our honeymoon. …

Mayor Myers: Service to Summerville

Wednesday, July 15, 2015 12:01 a.m.

(Excerpts from “Book of Golden Deeds” award given to Mr. Berlin for community service by The Charleston Exchange Club)

Mayor Myers: a man with a gentle humor

Friday, July 10, 2015 12:01 a.m.

While appearing on the same Summerville Preservation Society program about local history with Berlin G. Myers a few years ago, I told the audience he …

July 4th and American icons

Friday, July 3, 2015 12:01 a.m.

It was 44 years ago tomorrow that our family celebrated our best Fourth of July ever. That was the holiday when Jim returned from Viet Nam to where …

Reverse engineering recipes

Friday, June 26, 2015 12:01 a.m.

“If you stick my steak with that fork one more time, I’m gonna slap you upside the head!”

An old favorite done a new way

Friday, May 29, 2015 12:01 a.m.

If it’s okay with St. Peter – and if I get a pass through those gates – I’m taking my crockpot with me to heaven. That …

‘Glittering fragments of the rainbow’

Friday, May 22, 2015 12:01 a.m.

One of my favorite nature aviators is the delightful hummingbird.

More thoughts on Moody

Friday, May 8, 2015 11:26 a.m.

Monica Kreber’s recent excellent retrospective on Summerville High School Band Director, the late Gus Moody, talked about our local musical …

May Day memories

Friday, May 1, 2015 12:01 a.m.

This first day of May has been observed in many ways over the centuries, stemming from astronomical origins as the start of the spring planting …

A reunion to remember

Friday, April 24, 2015 12:01 a.m.

There were over a 100 there this week. It was about a half century ago the last time we were all together as a viable unit.

Salmon, soda bread and sweet spot desserts

Friday, April 17, 2015 12:01 a.m.

We Hills are a partying lot. It doesn’t take much for us to get together and everybody bring something. Our last gatherings were based on …

‘Timmy’ stands on firm cultural ground

Friday, April 10, 2015 12:01 a.m.

The small bronze sculpture of a gleeful young boy perched atop a bookcase is the Timrod Library’s logo.

‘The Day Christ Died’

Friday, April 3, 2015 12:01 a.m.

It’s been said that if Jim Bishop, the author of the above book, had lived 1,985 years ago, there would be five evangelists: Matthew, Mark, …

Floral festivals began over a century ago

Friday, March 27, 2015 12:01 a.m.

Sleeping Shrimp hard to resist

Friday, March 20, 2015 9:35 a.m.

Now who could resist an appetizer called “Sleeping Shrimp?”

Having a Hooley?

Friday, March 13, 2015 12:01 a.m.

Having a Hooley?

Channeling tea

Friday, March 6, 2015 2:30 p.m.

In the 35 years I’ve been learning about Summerville history, there’s something I’ve so wanted to do: actually go back in time …

Gravy or sauce?

Friday, February 27, 2015 10:01 a.m.

Real Italian: gravy or sauce?

Latest Videos
Upcoming Events

The Berkeley Independent

© 2015 The Berkeley Independent an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.