Thursday, October 25, 2012
Halloween is fast approaching and drivers should expect more pedestrians walking in or around the roadway. Children, as well as parents, should be aware of the dangers associated with walking close to the roadway.
Under SC Law, SECTION 56-5-3160, Pedestrians on highways, states the following:
(a) Where a sidewalk is provided and its use is practicable, it shall be unlawful for any pedestrian to walk along and upon an adjacent roadway.
(b) Where a sidewalk is not available any pedestrian walking along and upon a highway shall walk only on a shoulder as far as practicable from the edge of the roadway.
(c) Where neither a sidewalk nor a shoulder is available, any pedestrian walking along and upon a highway shall walk as near as practicable to an outside edge of the roadway and, if on a two-way roadway, shall walk only on the left side of the roadway.
(d) Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, any pedestrian upon a roadway shall yield the right-of-way to all vehicles upon the roadway.
Pedestrians should walk facing traffic and be prepared to take evasive action if a vehicle approaches. Pedestrians should wear some type of reflective material or light colored clothing so drivers can identify those walking close to the road, such as reflective wrist or ankle bands that can show movement. Drivers can see the movement and identify it as possibly being a pedestrian. Parents or guardians should monitor the event closely. Adults should be prepared to help children cross roads in their neighborhood and constantly looking for traffic. Pedestrians should use crosswalks when available or cross at intersections that are lit with streetlights. Drivers should prepare themselves for conditions at night as well by scanning the road ahead, preparing to stop for pedestrians crossing the road, lowering their speed, and keeping their attention on driving and not allowing themselves to be distracted.
When vehicles and pedestrians are close to each other, don’t assume they see each other and proceed with caution. Drivers and pedestrians should try to make eye contact.
For those planning to attend events Halloween night, which may be serving alcohol, try to remember some tips that will make this Halloween safe for everyone: Have a designated driver, arrange for a taxi, or call a friend to pick you up.
Please remember the roads we are traveling on will possibly have those little ones out for Halloween. Please make safety your first choice, don’t leave this to chance. Remember your best defense in any collision is your seatbelt. Buckle up; your life may depend on it.
Golf carts & Halloween
Golf carts may be operated on a secondary highway road on which the speed limit is 35 miles per hour or less. However, Golf carts may cross at an intersection of a highway with a speed limit greater than 35 miles per hour.
Those who wish to operate a golf cart must be at least 16 years old and possess a valid South Carolina driver's license. The driver of the golf cart must have the registration card of the golf cart and his or her driver's license while operating the golf cart on highways.
South Carolina requires golf cart drivers to be licensed and to register their cart with the DMV. Failure to pay property taxes on the golf cart can result in the DMV's refusal to renew your registration. Driving an unregistered golf cart is a misdemeanor offense in South Carolina, and drivers must carry their license and registration at all times.
South Carolina doesn't require golf cart drivers to insure their cart. For $550 per year, drivers can take advantage of South Carolina’s “Uninsured Motorist” option, which allows drivers without any convictions or offenses recorded on their South Carolina driving records to drive their carts without insuring the vehicle. This option doesn’t release drivers from legal or financial liabilities if they’re found to be at fault in an accident.
Drivers can use golf carts on secondary roads in South Carolina where the speed limit is no greater than 35 mph; however, the owner can’t drive the golf cart farther than two miles from their residence and may only drive the cart on public roads during daylight hours. Drivers are allowed to cross streets and highways that intersect secondary roads. Drivers must have a permit to operate golf carts on public roads; obtaining a permit requires proof of title and paying a $5 fee.
Driving under the influence (DUI) laws under South Carolina Statute 56-5-2933 apply to golf cart drivers. Drivers of legal drinking age with a blood alcohol content of .08 or higher and drivers under 21 with a BAC of .02 or higher are legally considered to be intoxicated.
Unlicensed minors are forbidden to drive golf carts on or off public roads under South Carolina Statute 56-3-115. According to South Carolina Statute 56-1-480, the minor’s parents will be cited and fined $217.50 if their unlicensed child is apprehended driving a golf cart.
The Berkeley Independent is pleased to offer readers the enhanced ability to comment on stories. We expect our readers to engage in lively, yet civil discourse. We do not edit user submitted statements and we cannot promise that readers will not occasionally find offensive or inaccurate comments posted in the comments area. Responsibility for the statements posted lies with the person submitting the comment, not The Berkeley Independent.