Lady Wolves track team wins Region 7AA Championship; boys finish second

  • Friday, May 9, 2014

Julie Grant/Special to The Independent Anastasia Kinlaw won the Region 7AA championship in the 400-meter dash.

If this were the children’s book “The Three Little Pigs,” the Timberland Lady Wolves track team won the Region 7AA Championship by the “hairs of their chinny-chin-chins.”

Timberland edged region rival Lake City 164-163 to claim the region championship by a single point.

“A single point over all the events you score in a track meet,” said Coach Joy Elizondo. “It was tight all the way. I knew the score and so did Lake City. Victory belongs to those who believe.”

On the boys’ side, the Wolves finished second.

“It was an overall team effort,” Elizondo said. “We didn’t have one person that stood out. It was a collective effort. All of our events had to perform.”

The Lady Wolves crowned five Region 7AA individual event champions and qualified

28 athletes for the Lower State Qualifier on Saturday, May 10 in Columbia.

Region champions include Anastasia Kinlaw in the 400-meter dash; Kiona Stafford in the 800-meter run; Alliyah Reaves in the 1600-meter run, the 4x800-meter relay team of Rynajia Moultrie, Aliyah Reaves, LaJai Reed and Riona Stafford; and Emma Harris in the shot put.

Lower state qualifiers include Kinlaw, Tamara Robinson, Delaney Houston, Stafford, Reaves, Reed, Marie Martin, Alaye Wade, the 4x100 relay team, and the 4x400 relay team.

The Lady Wolves will need more than one bus for the LS qualifer.

“The real story is all about the heart of these 12 girls and how they fought for each other by doing the best they could in their events,” Elizondo said. “Every point matters and we learn that last night. I was just so happy to see them fight for something so hard and win.”

On the boys’ side Frederick Reaves won the Region 7AA championship in the 1600-meter run with a time of 5:01 minutes.

Other athletes to advance to the Lower State Qualifier are Drake Campbell, Reaves, Keon Middleton-Weaver, Jermaine Gadsden, Johnny Halvorsen, Bernard Harmon, Johnell Brown, Brandon Simmons, Darrell Pressley, Armonte Prioleau, Kevin McCray, DeAngelo Cleveland, and the 4x100, 4x800 and 4x1600 relay teams.

Latest Videos
News from Twitter

The Berkeley Independent

© 2016 The Berkeley Independent an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.