Park and Rec wraps successful fall sports campaign

  • Wednesday, December 4, 2013

Photos Provided. The Bantam Cowboys


The future of Berkeley Stags’ sports shines bright when looking at the kids in Moncks Corner’s Park and Rec sports programs grinding it out on the gridiron and baseball field.

The park and rec fall program wrapped up last week with two tournaments, one in baseball, and a youth football tournament hosted by MCPR.

The Moncks Corner 9-10-year-olds swept the fall season and tournament, The MC Giants won the regular season and tournament championship while the MC Red Sox finished as tournament runners up.

The Giants and Red Sox played each other in the tournament championship at Wescott Park in North Charleston.

“To have two Moncks Corner baseball teams finish first and second in a statewide tournament like this says quite a lot about our town’s athletes and our baseball program,” said Moncks Corner Mayor Bill Peagler during the November town council meeting.

Team members for the Giants and Red Sox include Aiden Holt, Jackson Blackburn, Logan Phoebus, David Olsen, Jesse Free, Brayden Lail, Dylan Lambert, Ashton Lewis, Evan Kunkle, Garrett White, Benjamin Eddy, Braydon Castle, Eathan Reynolds, Hagen Gregory, Mack Ritter, Rhett Leggett, Brody Clanton, Austin Hewette, Joshua Legnard and Davis Riley.

Coaches are Eric Hill, Allan Ritter, Wade Leggett, Brian Legnard, Larry Free, David Clanton and Chris Hewette

“The two baseball teams played over 15 games apiece making it a long fall,” said MCPR Athletic Director Matt Still. “They both were very well coached and very competitive in the 28-team league we played in.”

The baseball tournament featured 28 teams and the Giants and Red Sox entered the tournament as the top two seeds.

On the football side, the Moncks Corner Midget Cowboys, Bantam Cowboys and Small Fry Stags won the Berkeley Youth Football Conference Tournament Championship in Moncks Corner on Nov. 20.

“Our football tournament consisted of the Berkeley Youth Football Conference, which consists of Moncks Corner, Ladson, St. Stephens, and Bonneau,” Still said. “It was a single loss bracket and all teams competed throughout the week.”

Moncks Corner took home titles in Midget, Small Fry, and Bantam divisions, or three of the four divisions.

Ladson took home the crown in the Pee Wee division beating the regular season champion Pee Wee Moncks Corner Stags for the crown.

Also the Bantam Cowboys won the regular season championship and the tournament championship, going undefeated in both regular season and tournament play.

The MC Midget Cowboys are J.J. Fincher, Miller Whetzel, Ian Giles, Lagan Hodge, Reed Driggers, Kanye Thomas, Drayton Dupree, J’Vaariez Sumpter, Hudson Clark, Evan gaskins, Gavin Barb, Randy Etling, Stephen VanScyoc Jr, Shamari Sergeon, Treyvon Wheeler, KJ Rivers, Cam Palmer, Aaron Talbert, Austin Ledoux, Camden Thomas, Adam Rivers, Ryan Hill.

The Midget Cowboys coaches are Steve Ledoux, Kevin Rivers, Jeff Whetzel, Rob Talbert, and Jay Fincher

The Bantam Cowboys are Peyton Morgan, Shamari Gathers, Josh Simmons, Jackson Weathers, Anthony Arroyo, Michael Smart, Cole Garrick, Andrew Crickard, Shane Franks, Christian Owens, Damond Navarre, DJ Chislom, Trey Morrison, Johnathan Reid-Boyd, Kevin Rhode Jr., De’Onjuloe Francis, Anthony Gdson Jr., Sullivan Matkovich, Quamane Witherspoon, Holden Smith, Tyreke Walker, Irvonte Yeadon and Dervon Peznell.

Bantam Cowboys coaches are Ron Reid, Marvin Wright, Kevin Wadford and Eric Wright.

The Small Fry Stags are Dayshon Driggers, Jaylen Ravenel, Adam Vincent, Christian Warren, Jake Dunn, Jacques Coaxom, Hakeem Meggett, Trey Minor, Randy Seton, Kyle Gill, Corey Moraux, Myles Walker, Malik Brabham, Drayton Wallace, Nolan Blackburn, Sean Perritte, Tyler Lambert, Joseph Sales, Aaron Walker, Kiondre Gillard, Noah Williams, Joshua Williams, Joe Quick, Johnny Felder, Randy Seton and D.J. Gourdine.

Small Fry Stags coaches are Coach Walker, Coach Vincent, Coach Don Minor, and Coach Williams.

Latest Videos
News from Twitter

The Berkeley Independent

© 2016 The Berkeley Independent an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.