State champs stock inaugural ‘All-Indy’ team

  • Monday, January 14, 2013

The Class A Div. II state champion Cross Trojans dominate the inaugural All-Indy Team, the Berkeley Independentís All-Area Team.
Running back Devantae Shepherd, a Class A All-State and Player of the Year selection, was named the Offensive Player of the Year while Timberlandís human highlight reel, Austin McKinney was tabbed as the Defensive Player of the Year.
Shepherd rushed for 1,289 yards with 20 touchdowns in leading the Trojans to their first state championship in school history. McKinney set a state record with a 109-yard interception return for a touchdown and played in this yearís Shrine Bowl.
Cross head Coach Shaun Wright was selected Coach of the Year after leading the Trojans to the schoolís first state championship.
The All Indy Team is comprised of 12-member offensive and defensive teams.
The Trojans and Wolves each placed seven players on the team, while Berkeley numbered six selections and St. Johnís Christian Academy tallied four.

All Indy Offensive Team

Branford Halls, QB/DB Cross
Evan Hammond, QB/DB, SJCA
Devantae Shepherd, RB Cross
Dionte Evans RB/KR Cross
Rashae Bey, RB/KR, SJCA
Josh Sellers, RB/KR Berkeley
Ezekiel Jenkins, RB, Berkeley
Roderick McCray, QB/DB Timberland
TJ Griffin, OL Berkeley
Malik Gooding, OL/DL Cross
Shamell Williams, RB/KR Timberland
Otis Wilson, K, Timberland

All Indy Defensive Team

William Brown, OL/DL SJCA
Dan Glover, OL/DL SJCA
Daquan Chambers, OL/DL Cross
Storm Moore, OL/DL Timberland
Olin Pinckney, LB/RB Cross
Diamonte Evans, DB Cross
Isaac Ferguson, DL Timberland
Josh Simmons, DB Berkeley
Adam June, FB/LB Timberland
Alonzo McGill, DL Berkeley
Austin McKinney, DB/WR Timberland
Asanti Dantzler, P Berkeley

Latest Videos
News from Twitter

The Berkeley Independent

© 2016 The Berkeley Independent an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.