Jamestown Loop

  • Wednesday, May 1, 2013

Photo Provided -- THS students and sponsor Gwen Robinson celebrate at the State FBLA Leadership Conference. --

 2013 Hell Hole Swamp Fest arrives
The 42nd Annual Hell Hole Swamp Festival is being held through May 4.
For information and registrations for beauty pageants and parade, contact Chris Pipkin at 257-2233; for arts, crafts and food, contact Lisa at (843) 343-9981 or Pam at (864) 417-0226; for the barbecue cookoff, contact Roger Ford at 729-1151.
In addition to the above, there will be various activities, including the Whiskey Still display, a parade, talent show, children spitting contest, horseshoe pitching, arm wrestling, antique tractor show, and mechanical bull and pony rides. 
The THS Band Boosters will be selling concessions at the beauty pageants. There will also be rides, games, arts and crafts exhibits, food concessions, music and much more.
Come out for a great family day! Email hhfestival@homesc.com or visit www.festivalnews.info under featured festivals for more information.
The Future Business Leaders of America from Timberland High School competed at the State FBLA Leadership Conference held April 12 and 13.
The team did an outstanding job.
Congratulations to all students, their families, and sponsor Gwen Robinson for their accomplishments.
The following placed at state: Diandra Prioleau, First Place Spreadsheet Applications; Nakeita Sumpter, Second Place FBLA Principles and Procedures; Amy Benton, Third Place Word Processing II; Alaysha Rogers, Fourth Place Business Math; Devante Theirse and Timothy Rose, Fourth Place Digital Video Productions; Asia Canty, Fifth Place Word Processing I; and Eian Jager, Fifth Place Introduction to Technology Concepts.
Also competing were: Jasmine Campbell, Shy-da Bradley,Kevin McCray, Malik Brown, Ashanti Bennett, Ashley Coleman, Laki Wells, Fatima Bennett and Erykah Reid.
Diandra Prioleau and Nakeita Sumpter will go on to compete nationally.
Happy April Birthday
Dennis Shuler, David M. Shuler, Marshall Shuler, Deamonte' Lingham-Taylor, Jacquez Prioleau Jr., Sade' A. Boone, Carrison Lambert Fisher, Devette Green, Chiquitta Douglas, John Dingle, Barry Heyward Jr., Nora Harvin, Nate Morgan, Harvey Middleton, Shawn Summers, Maurice Kinlaw, Keith Wright, Aliyah Hawkins, Wanda Shealy, Mark Murray, Angel Howard, Lisa Gourdine, Terry Gadsden, Donna Shuler-Rodin, Ann Burnette, Angela Burnett, Kristen Snider, Jerome Stewart, Lisa Stewart, Amber Milford, Earl Woodberry, Lynn Tindal and Meco Johnson.
Prayer List
Shenard Smalls, Namon Hamilton Jr., Lorrine Gaskins, George McCrackin, Sandy Wilson Jr., Irvin Grissitte, Evelyn Scott-Smalls, Lance Britt, Debra Gaskins, Ray Snider, Wilton Green, Ernest Foster (Margaret Maybank’s brother), Ila Shuler, Debbie Beauford, Christine Reames, Phillip and Debbie Rowland, Leon Bradshaw, Ausy McConnell, Lorenzo McConnell, Bernice Taylor, Flora Beauford, Cleecy Lewis, Diane Mazyck, Walter Taylor, Marvin Brunson and Shirley Smith.  Please remember our law enforcement, our military and their families.
Sympathy and condolences to the family of Iva Bell Hawkins.
Please send any information or news you would like shared in this column to Rodind@homesc.com or call 257-2880 by 7 p.m. on Wednesdays for inclusion in the following week’s paper.

Latest Videos
News from Twitter

The Berkeley Independent

© 2016 The Berkeley Independent an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.