Macedonia Newsline

  • Tuesday, March 13, 2012

Bonner Elementary School Teacher of the Year Sloane Dalton Dills.

Dills honore at Bonner Elementary

Sloane Dalton Dills has been chosen to represent Bonner Elementary School as the 2012-2013 Teacher of the Year.
She came to Bonner in December of 2007, to teach a class of second graders whose teacher had left in November. She taught second grade for three additional years and is currently a third grade teacher with the school’s Academy of the Arts.
At Bonner, Sloan is the chair for the School Improvement Committee and the Bonner Planning Team, and is involved in a host of other activities.
Along with Principal Natalie Lockliear and Visual Arts teacher Jessica Wade, she presented an informative session detailing Bonner Elementary's journey to becoming an arts infused school at the fall 2011 South Carolina Alliance for Arts education conference in Charleston.
Sloan attended the University of South Carolina 
“In the four years that Sloan Dills has been at Bonner Elementary, she has developed into a strong instructional leader and important part of our team,” Lockilear said. “She is a passionate teacher with a determination to achieve excellence for the students in her classroom and for our school. We are honored to have her represent Bonner."

Principal Assistants

Fourth grade students at Bonner Elementary who were chosen to be a Principal Assistant for the second nine weeks included El-Hajj Summers, Kane Williams, C.J. Martin, Jamie Thornley, Cooper Rowell, Rebecca Martin, Becca Morris, Yasmine Noel, Connie Middleton, Wade Oliver, Jamari Nelson, Samatha Soldano, Cardine Heddich, Destiny Wright, Lenny Gable, Arleigh Johhnson, Keon Bishop Covington, Kassler Dennis, Katelyn Kirkland, Bremen Steele, Joseph Smith, Juana Sanchez, Emanuel  Moultrie, John Hunter Vallentine, Brianna Jackson, Matthew Williamson, Taylor Clarke, Shelby Sullivan, Somer Moryd,  Marcus Hall, Madison Wyndham, Megan McCants, Skylar Wright, Spencer Roach and  Madison Little.

Womens Luncheon

The annual community Women's Luncheon will be held on March 31 at Oak Grove PH Church. Registration will be at 10 a.m.
There will be a small skit and lunch will be at 12 noon. All women are encouraged to attend.
Movie Night

Hood's Chapel UM Church will be having a Community Youth Movie Night on Friday, March 23 at 7 p.m. The movie will be "Facing the Giants."

The 20-year class reunion planning meeting and dinner for the Macedonia High School class of 1992 will be held at Gilligan's at 6 p.m. on March 31. Contact Lehele Nole at Mhs1992reunion@yahoo.com to RSVP.

Happy Birthday from Hickory Grove PH Church to Loudie Morris, Terry Kinard, Gail Black, Tonya Bryant, Noah Bryant, Bonita Eschenberg, Jennifer Taylor, Kirby Litchfield, Randall Litchfield, Jessie Mills, Angie Mills and Kathy Jackson.
Happy Birthday from Providence Baptist Church to Rodney Castleberry (March 8), Jason Miller (March 12), Allen Weatherford (March 12), and Susan Wiggins (March 13).
Happy Birthday to my daughter, Christina O'Quinn (March 16). Love, Momma and Daddy.

Hickory Grove sends special anniversary wishes to Chevon and Matt Allen.

Prayers and Sympathy are with the family of Wanda Guerry. Mrs. Guerry passed away on Wednesday morning, March 7. She will be missed by many family members and friends in the community.
Prayer List

Continue to pray for Virginia Kirkland, Louise Litchfield, the Fort family, the Guerry family, Tom Mathis, Mildred Thames, Allen Mills, Gloria Conner, Roy and Marlene Farmer, Maggie Dubose, Amelia "Weasie" Thames, DP Caddell, Patricia West, Brenda Law, Ruth Cumbee, Leah Mitchum, Liz Barlow, Marie Barlow, Shelvy Jean Wilson, Cassidy Cox, Willie and Neshia Cox, Willis and Rita Wiggins, Kelly Umphlett, Dexter Floyd, Bryon and Jenelle Watts, Joyce Lewis, Geraldine Garrett, Gennie Vincent, Marilyn Tucker, Bill Garton, Eric Schulknight, Mrs. Thelma Schulknight, Diane Gaskins, Kirby Litchfield, Ricky Hood, Sammie and Yvonne Hood, Viola Murphy, Sarah Jackson, the Chubb family, Kitty Cumbee, Yvonne Cumbee, Diane Litchfield, Helen Crawford, Kit Reames, Kenny Morris, Gage Brinson, Stafford Fort, Carolyn Guerry, Claudia Guerry, Pete Wrenn, Bo Langley, Marion an Juanita Mills, Rouse Thomas, Shirley Perry, Colt Henderson (military), Daniel Cox (military), Kelvin Bellamy, and our firefighters, military, community and country.
If anyone has news to share give me a call at 565-3125 or e-mail me at janettehood@aol,com. I need news by Wednesday afternoon for the next week's column.

Latest Videos
News from Twitter

The Berkeley Independent

© 2016 The Berkeley Independent an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.